2nd Commemoration Program

The 2nd Annual Commemoration Conference was held on 17th June 2012 at Swarna Bhavan, I.S.Press Road, Ernakulam. The Keynote Address was delivered by Sri.K.P.Ramanunni, noted Malayalam short story writer & Novelist. Prof.N.N.Anandan chaired over the first session. Two publications were released in the first session – “Deepankur”, the Annual Literary Digest, and  “Konkanavum Konkan Bhashayum” (2nd edition).  The latter book is a Malayalam translation of Dr.V.P.Chavan’s English original, ‘The Konkan & The Konkani Language”. The translation is rendered by the Late S.G.Naik of Vaikom and was first brought out in 1926. First copy was released by Sri.A.R.Balakrishna Prabhu of Tripunithura, and received by Sri.V.K.Pai of Vaikom. Sri.Vishwanatha Shenoy rendered a prayer song while Sri.Payyanur Ramesh Pai welcomed the guests and Sri.Anand.G.Kamath proposed a Vote of Thanks.

The second session comprised of a Multilingual Poets’ Meet, chaired by Sri.Melvyn Rodrigues. Poets who read  their own poems included Dr.M.Shanmughan Pulappatta (Hindi), Smt.T.Valsala Devi (Sanskrit), Dr.G.Rangarajan (English), Sri.S.Ramesan (Malayalam), Sri.S.Chittaranjan Nayak, Smt.Surya Ashok, Dr.L.Suneetha Bai and Sri.N.Balakrishna Mallya (Konkani). Sri. Saratchandra Shenoi welcomed the gathering and Sri.P.N.Sivananda Shenoy proposed a Vote of Thanks.

                                               Photo shows K.P.Ramanunni delivering the Keynote Address